need help with buying planer

Hello,

I'm new to woodworking and I'm finding that having a thickness planer would get rid of alot of problems.
My wife told me to go get one :}. I was looking at the dewalt 735,because of 3 blades and 2 speeds.My question
is do I really need all that? That is the max on planer budget and would prefer to buy used.I have seen
them on craigslit for 300 to 350......Any input would really help out.....thanks

This is a great forum........

welcome to the bunch mitch! as for planers, i have, and can highly recommend rigid's 3 blade planer. i've had one for a little over a year now, and i've fed everything through it, and it keeps coming back for more. at roughly $400 at home depot new, not a bad bargain.

Welcome to FFW Mitch:wave: We have quite a few members that have the DW735 including me and speaking for myself I really like it and would by one again with out question:thumb:

On the theory of "Buy once, cry once" I'd recommend biting the bullet and getting the 735. It's a real workhorse, and has a great reputation. Buying a lesser (cheaper) planer might be okay, but every time there's a tear-out, or some snipe, you'll wonder "Should I have gotten the 735 instead..."

If you want to go upwards from a so-called 'portable' planer, then I'd look at the Delta or Grizzley 15" models. They're much more powerful, and built like tanks. Pretty pricey, though. They make the 735 seem cheap! (price-wise, not quality-wise).

Welcome aboard, Mitch! You'll find this Family a great bunch of folks.

I bought a 735 a little over a year ago and think it's great! If you haven't already, check Amazon. When I was ready to buy, I caught the 735X package, which included an extra set of blades and the tables for $100 less than the plain 735 package at the Borg.