3x3 oak cracking

Hello,
I'm new to woodworking and I'm having a problem I'm hoping to get some help with...
From the beginning, I buy rough sawn 4x4's and mill it down to 3 or 3 1/2 sq. It is pretty moist when
I get it....I let it set (in my basement) for 2 days then I plane it down. Its still pretty moist but my problem
is that it cracks quit a bit.Is there any way to prevent this from happening ? These are set up blocks
for boring mills and they cannot have cracks all through them....any help would be appreciated.

4x4 dimension lumber used for building construction is wet wood. Generally, they are not kiln dried. They would become too expensive. As you cut and mill the wood, it is drying and will crack. Also many 4x4's also include the pith of the tree, a sure path to cracking and splitting. The pith is the very center around which all the rings grow. Generally you do not want it anywhere in your project. It spells trouble. I can explain why, but I will only if you ask. Most people don't care.

If you need wood set-up blocks that stay stable, I would suggest the pattern maker's wood friend, mahogany. You likely will have to face glue it to the block size you want. I doubt it can be found in a 4x4 dimension. Don't dismiss this as being too expensive. Look into it first.

Your need here for really dimensionally stable wood limits your choices, but one them is not 4x4's from the borgs. Hardwoods are normally kiln dried and you should have better luck. White oak or osage orange would also be candidates. Dried oak is best bought already dimensioned and drying oak is an art form. Osage orange would depend on where you live and whether there are lumber mills around. It is not something you can find at every lumber yard and certainly the borgs.