Big sander

ken lutes

Just sold my 26inch drum sander. Hope I don't miss it?? Haven't really used it much after getting my planer. Do you guys use a wide belt sander much?

I have a 38 inch woodmaster that I use extensively when building cabinets. It goes hand in hand with my planer. No planer will leave stock mark free and the drum or belt gets rid of the mill marks left over and facilitates final sanding much more quickly.

I only use my 22-44 on wide panels or table tops.
the smaller panels I just run through the planer and sand with orbital.
I find the 22-44 leaves sanding marks, fine lines running the length of the surface, that have to be sanded out with the orbital, so timewise, same difference for me.

I agree with Allen on the sanding lines that the drum sander left on the wood. I will say the wood has a flat surface feel / look after going thur it. Mine was a 26 woodmaster. Yea Stuart figure wood will be a problem from now on. But I don't work with curly maple on flat work to often, mostly use it on gunstocks only. I wouldn't have gotten rid of it but I really need the room! That's why I am selling some other tools. I have already added on my shop two times. Wife say no more? LOL of course adding a custom frame shop is what really took most of my room up. Maybe that's what needs to go!

Last edited:
I have an 18/36 and I use it on glue ups all the time. I do hate the lateral marks like others have mentioned but after taking the time to glue up a panel (I do have a 20" planer) I dread the thought of getting tear out or snipe from the planer. The drum sander takes care of the glue lines and if I take the time to go to a lighter grit paper after my first sanding then there is much less time with the orbit sander.