Rikon 10" benchtop bandsaw

I'm half tempted to get one to have for a scrolling blade. It might even pay for itself in blades over a few years... ... .. lets see roughly $5 per blade cheaper compared to my current saw so payback is only 40 blades. Currently using ~2 blades (of that size) per year so.. yeah only 20 years.

A scrolling saw would be kind of convenient though :D

Ned, shouldn't the size of a bandsaw depend on the size of the lumber to be cut, rather than the experience of the owner? My bandsaw has a 6" cutting depth, but without it, I could not have done some of the things I have tried, even though I am a beginner at it.

That being said, at 4½" clearance, it's pretty comparable to mine, at a good price.

Last edited:
Roger, I think the point Ned was making is that it has a somewhat limited capacity, but the price is low enough that it's affordable for someone who's just starting to put a shop together. You're right about the size limiting the thickness of lumber you can cut, but often there are power issues with smaller saws, too. Smaller saws typically don't have a lot of horses under the hood (which is fine for the thinner stock they are use on), but by the time you get into a 6" saw like yours, the motor horsepower can be increased quite a bit.

Ryan, I know of several guys who've bought these to use as a dedicated scrolling saw. If I had the room, I'd be tempted myself. The little Rikon has a good reputation. (So do their bigger models.) And this is indeed a good price. :thumb:

well i agree if you in to small stuff but....the Grizzly deal posted the other day with a 1 Hp motor while double in cost i would prefer saving for it. Unless one plans on keeping the 10" ie have space to do that when you upgrade then my view is you will get little back and harder to sell. YMMV. I just cannot get over that Grizzly deal.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2