sketchup free version ? pro version?

I just started playing with sketchup for the first time. I downloaded the free version which seems pretty basic. I printed out a sketchup 8 ref. card but there seem to be twice as many icons on the reference card as there are on the sketchup tool bar.

the reference card says sketchup 8. Is there more than one free down load or am I just doing something wrong?

The website also says I can try sketchup pro for 30 days for free. It is something I might like to have. Is it very similar to the free version so as I would gain a lot of knowledge by playing with the free version for a bit and then I would be able to make better use of pro for the trial?

...there seem to be twice as many icons on the reference card as there are on the sketchup tool bar.

the reference card says sketchup 8. Is there more than one free down load or am I just doing something wrong? ...

Nothing wrong - you just havent selected enough tools yet.

Go to "View" - "toolbars" and select the large tool set. There are also several other selections in "View" so you can play around a bit until you get things looking like you want them.

Keith,

As to the icons, SketchUp does start with a very basic set on purpose. The idea is to help new users avoid getting overwhelmed by a whole lot of tools. Start basic and learn good modeling techniques (make components of parts as you go, draw with precision, etc.) Then add other tools as you go.

You can do as Jim said and choose the Large Tool Set but if you do, deselect Getting Started or you'll wind up with a number of duplicated tools which can be confusing and is just a waste of screen real estate. My preference is to enable individual toolbars instead of using the Large Tool Set. I have the following native toolbars turned on.
  • Camera
  • Construction
  • Drawing
  • Styles
  • Modification
  • Principal
  • Sections
  • Shadows
  • Standard
  • Views