Pin Nailer Recommendation

Al Launier

I'm thinking of getting a pin nailer & have been recommended a Bostich 18ga. Just wondering what you guys use/or recommend. Is the 18ga the most commonly used or is the 23(?) ga a better overall size.

Also, it would seem that the pin nailer would be preferred over a brad nailer to mechanically secure pieces together while hiding the head. Your thoughts on this would be appreciated as well.

Thanks!

I have a Makita 18ga brad nailer and an HF 23ga pin nailer. Both have their applications, so it depends on what you plan to do with it. A pin nailer is primarily useful for applying trim and molding.

If money were no object, or if I was a working professional, I'd get a Grex.
Neither of those are true for me :rolleyes: so I bought a Ridgid 23 guage pinner. Works fine in most things. Full length in hard wood is sometimes a challenge, but that is not often.

But I also agree with Bill. The 18 gauge brad nailer is a whole different beast for different purposes. I have one of those also (porter cable) and it works fine for it's uses.

I've got a porter cable. Happy with it so far, but it's only been a few years.

Like everyone else said, you need both. One won't do what the other does, and vice versa... ;)

I have a Delta 18 gauge pin/staple gun, and a HF 23 gauge pin nailer. I've used the Delta primarily for staples (making shipping crates and such) and the HF for most of everything else (which isn't a lot, since I've not done much flatwork for several years. I can put up with the occasional misfire from the HF gun, considering the price I paid for it.

If I was shooting a lot of pins/nails, I'd go with Senco or Grex. (Love my Grex sander.)

I have a Chinese brad nailer that I was given many years ago at a tool show and a HF pinner that cost about $20.00. Both have seen many boxes of nails never had a skip, miss, or problem with either of them.