Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: item 5 of 9 for the state fair

item 5 of 9 for the state fair

now that the shop is well and truly open, the projects are just flying along. this one is the fifth of nine entries for this year's state fair, my attempt at a backgammon board. a big thanks goes out to our beluved hambassader, for his selection of that good michigan chocolate. those are the beautiful boards that i purchased from him. i found that after i cut the blanks for the outer panels, i have enough left over to make the frames (which will be different than the sketchup pic as i'm not that good at miters yet), and the inner dividers. the rest of the board will be walnut, crotch figured cherry (that i got from larry earlier), and nicely figured hard maple. the cups will be made from this nice claro walnut blank that i've had sitting around for a while, and the doubling cube will be figured hard maple. the checkers are going to be cocobolo and hard maple. so far, i have cut the outer panel blanks to length and width, then cut them to bookmatch. this will keep me out of mischief for a day or two....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2014 fair backgammon board.jpg   002 board one.jpg   003 boards 2 and 3.jpg   004 blanks for doubling cube.jpg   005 blank for dice cups.jpg  

006 blanks for outer panels.jpg   007 blanks for outer panels cut to length.jpg   008 first bookmatched panel.jpg   009 second bookmatched panel.jpg  
    benedictione omnes bene

www.burroviejowoodworking.com

great looking and challenging project. good luck. looking forward to seeing it finished.
    Human Test Dummy

Definitely following along on this one Dan great project idea.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk
    cheers

I'm a watching.
    "We the People ......"