Stihl chainsaw

Carol Reed

In Memoriam
Chainsaw.jpg

I bought this thing ~20 years ago. Haven't run it in over 10 years. Brother used it last. He ran it dry and put it back in its case, so bad gas was not the issue. Non-use was. Figured it ought to go visit the Stihl repair guy.

Learned some things.

Replacement saw would be well over $300. This one has more metal and is well worth resurrecting. I gave the green light. Picked it up today. Cost me $122 and change. But everything in the fuel system has been replaced or rebuilt. Rubber and plastic stuff deteriorates sitting in the case. New plug and freshly sharpened chain. $68 in labor, the rest in parts. It is raring to go and I think I got a more than a fair deal. $68 doesn't buy me much in the way of frustration to try to repair something I have little or knowledge of. Small engines certainly fall in that category.

Here is the object of this repair.

Lot 5.jpg

Behind the sign post is a dead tree leaning badly. About to become turning wood and firewood. On the to-do list.

Please be careful. Cutting trees down is dangerous enough, but a dead tree, you don't know how much good wood is available for the hinge. Also another bad thing about this tree is its bend. The top will land before the log, can act as a spring and bounce back past the stump so please be very, very careful and aware.

Thanks, Jon. Since that picture was taken, the tree has fallen completely on the ground. And I won't be alone. My turning club has a group of guys who salvage turning wood. A couple of them will be there and they are really equipped well and experienced at these things. My little chain saw was originally purchased (~1982) for turning blanks and some minor trimming, not felling trees. Bar is too short. I can help with the little stuff. I plan to be very, very careful. Those saws can bite really bad.