Some observations on running CNC.

Ian Barley

I have been running 2 CNC routers for about 4 years now. I cut all the parts for my products on them and run them for thousands of hours. I can see that there is an interest in this technology and thought I might scatter some of my fairly random and very personal observations in this post in the hope that they might be useful to others .

Workholding -

This is massively important. My production system uses vacuum workholding. Each machine has its own vacuum pump and the workholding plates are made from phenolic ply and I use neoprene based tape for the seal. There are lots of ways of using vacuum - mine is pretty specific but if you are at all serious about using CNC invest some time and money to make a good solution for your own needs. For one offs where vacuuum isn't appropriate I generally make some drill holes in the workpiece away from the cutting lines and run a drilling program before the cutting program and screw through the workpiece into a spoilboard. There are other ways to hold workpieces but for any real volume some manner of vacuum system has to be the best solution

Cuttters -

I've gone through several evolutions on this matter. Most of my work is profile cuts, in other words cuttting out the edge of a shaped workpiece.

I started out with 1/2" straight cutters. Disaster. Expensive, wasteful, noisy, limit the minimum internal radius of cuts. Not suitable for drilling pilot holes or cutting small holes. Disaster.

Then I tried 6mm spirals. Litttle bit less of a disaster. Expensive, wasteful. Tiny bit better for cutting small holes and slightly tighter radii.

I'm now on 1/8" (3.175mm spirals). Best solution so far. Cheap, relatively quieter. Perfect for drilling pilot holes and small radii. I have to make more passes at a shallower depth but for me the trade off is well worth it.

Reliability