Wax Questions

Sean Wright

I've never done this before, so bear with my questions on this.....:dunno:

I am planning on putting wax on the cast iron top of my TS and joiner. What kind of wax should I use? Also should I wax the fence on my TS? The fence is made of extruded aluminum.

I have a MDF extesnion that I built on to the TS. Should that be waxed too? or just left alone?

In applying the wax, I'm assuming that it would be a very fine coating. Would I buff the wax, once applied, like waxing a car?

Has anyone with a waxed TS, run in to problems with the wax gumming up with dust?

Thanks for the suggestions!

Johnson's Paste Wax. I wax top, fence and rails; MDF too. Wax on, wait till it just starts to cloud, then buff off.

Another vote for Johnson's applied per Glenn's post. I haven't had any problems with gumming.
Stay away from automotive waxes, most contain silicones that are baaaaaaad in a wood shop.

I use the Mothers Billet Cleaner (Auto Zone or almost any car parts store) to get the top super clean. And then the Johnsons and then a coat of Renaissance Wax.
The Renaissance Wax is pretty pricy but lasts a LONG time because you use so little. It is slicker than cat snot and super hard. It doesn't even allow finger prints.

DT

Mothers Billet Cleaner
http://www.properautocare.com/mobimepo.html

Renaissance Wax
http://www.lightimpressionsdirect.com/servlet/OnlineShopping?DSP=50000&PCR=30000:120000:123000:123200&IID=8282

Hey Sean,
My philosophy on wax breaks down to two things:

1. less is more
2. do it once a week (or so)

Best way to avoid build up is to not put a lot on. At least in my location (southwest desert) there is always dust build up. So the idea is to wax, use the tools, clean off the dust, and wax again.

I have a list of Tuesday (garbage guy comes Wednesday) chores. On the list is brush off metal surfaces and apply wax.