Cutlist Plus?

Allen Bookout

Does anyone here use a program called Cutlist Plus?

My projects are small and I do not do a whole lot of them throughout the year but I was thinking that if it saved me time on figuring out the most ecomomical way to cut and maybe saved me a couple pieces of plywood it might be worth the cost. I am guessing that it would give me a close estimate for the cost before I started. For my use is this program worth the cost and effort to learn it? I am going to build a built in cabinet and I could try their free trial but I think that I would get a better assesment from someone that uses it.

Cutlist Plus

As is typical for us guys using Macintosh computers, there ain't much choice out there. So I use the free download of Cutlist.

Because I'm just starting out with woodworking (new shop is consuming my time), I don't have a lot of experience with the program. But, I don't know how a guy would accomplish this much efficiency with any other method.

The challenge with the program (it seems to me) is naming individual parts to be cut. Why not try the free version to try it out before investing money. You might find that the "plus" version is overkill. Someone who is running a production cabinet shop might need all the bells and whistles.

Gary Curtis
Northern Calif.

Thanks guys! Dave Richards sent me a private message about Sketchup. He said that he sent the private message instead of posting in my thread due to the fact that he did not want to be misunderstood and seem to be pushing the program. We all know Dave and I do not think than anyone here could possibly think anything bad about a person that is as well respected as he is. I am going to copy the messages here. This is the first message:

"CutList