How much time after milling?

I'm new to building projects out of rough lumber. I already wish I had a bigger jointer but that's a story for another thread. My question is this. Because I basically only get shop time for a few hours in the evenings and weekends, it takes me a while to get pieces milled. It could be weeks (or longer) between when my first piece is milled and assembly. How long can I expect these pieces to stay straight? Should I get them close and then joint and plane them again right before assembly? What methods should I use to minimize warpage? I've been taught to sticker them to keep even air flow. Is that the best way to handle this? I'd be interested to hear how you weekend warriors deal with this issue.

I will be very interested in this topic. This happens to me as well and I am always concerned about the wood moving before assembly. I have had thinner pieces move on me after milling, but I am not sure how thin you can go and it not be a problem. Great question, can't wiat for the answers.

[size=+1]Much (most?) of the movement/warpage will occur almost immediately when the internal stresses are changed due to the milling process.

There may be some additional movement over a couple days - especially if the wood isn't fully dried. That's why it's often recommended that stock be allowed to acclimatize for a while in the shop before you mill it.[/size]

I let my wood acclimate to the shop environment. Where I live the environment is pretty stable. In areas where temp and humidity change drastically, I hear folks let the wood acclimate in the room where the piece will eventually stand.

I wait a couple weeks more or less depending on the state of the wood. If I know I am going to have gaps between milling and assembly (like I always do, it seems) I will mill 'close' to final size. I then let the pieces acclimate some more while I'm doing whatever it is I'm doing while I wish I was in the shop (whew, got that out of my system).