You just have to love PEX

I gotta say, PEX is the answer for anyone who hates plumbing.

I have never worked with the stuff before, but since that is what you use to lay down radiant floor heating, I had some left over. After thinking about using pvc pipe and all the bends, elbows, glue and whatnot I would need to finish up a wet wall in time for my drywall guy to come in, I decided to buy PEX fittings and do it with PEX.

What a great idea that was. It took longer to drill the holes and route the PEX tubing then it did to hook everything up. In fact it was like running electrical cable. Drill the holes, push the pipe in around the corners and bends, then push on some fittings and you are done. No leaks, no mess, no glue, no noxious fumes, nothing, just a nasty job done and over with.

I gotta say, when I plumb my shop for compressed air, its PEX that I am using. About the only bad thing I can say for it is that the cost of fittings can get high at 4 bucks a shot. At the same time no matter how you arrange PEX tubing, if its not hidden inside a wall, it just looks goofy. There is just no way to make it look nice and clean like copper or galvanized pipe.

A friend recently did his house with PEX. He and his wife plumbed the whole place in a matter of a few days. Great stuff - though I tease him about running a garden hose through the house!:rofl:

Wes

I'm getting ready to try it in the next few weeks. All the new plumbing for my master bath will be PEX. A local hardware store rents the crimper for $5/day.

Travis,

If you noticed/recall, I used PEX when I did that little bit of plumbing in my shop. It sure is easy to work with!