McAfee Security Suite?

I've had nothing but BAD experiences with McAfee and Norton, I use Zone Alarm for a fire wall, and Nod32 for my e-mail, I find them both much less intrusive that anything else out there, but YMMV.

Ah, NO, I'd not take the McAfee, even for free. :)

Contrary to everyone else's opinion, I've had nothing but good service from McAfee products. I have their 'Security Suite" on all four of my computers, and have never had a problem, or a conflict. I use everything in the suite except the parental control portion.

I really like the spam filter, and the firewall. Both work very well, with no hassles. The Internet Security feature can be really handy - especially whe accessing from somebody else's network - like at a hotel.

I've been using McAfee for about five or six years, after having two computers virtually made unusable by Norton products. I wouldn't touch Norton with a ten foot pole (or two five foot Lithuanians).

Bruce,

My main computers are Macs, but I also have a Sony Vaio notebook, running Vista Ultimate, and Comcast. I took advantage of the free McAfee protection and have had no problems with it. I see no reason to not give it a try...you can always delete it if you don't like it.

Hi Bruce I would agree with Stu. My 17 yr old son is a wiz on computers. He left me saying Huh? a couple of years ago as he has surpassed everything that I thought I knew about computers. He loaded Nod 32 on to my system a couple of years ago and it is fantastic.

The biggest problem I have with McAfee is that once you let it into your system it takes an act of God to remove it :doh:

I recently went through this with a friend's wife's computer (he was stationed over seas for a while, and asked me to fix her computer, as she could not, and it was their primary source of communication). We spend hours and hours, safe mode, reboots blah blah blah.... :bang: