Need Some Help

Cody Colston

My boss's boss had seen a pic of one of my turnings and expressed an interest in them. He thought that his wife, an interior decorator, would especially be interested in them as accent pieces for her customers.

Well, I e-mailed him a pic of the SW Hollowform and Vase that I posted here and he wants to buy both pieces for his wife as a Valentine's day gift.

I have no idea what to ask for the pieces as I've never sold any turnings before. This could also lead to additional sales from rather high-end customers in the Houston area, too, so I don't want to undercharge.

But, the big boss is a great guy and great to work for so I don't want to gouge him, either.

Can y'all give me some guidance on pricing? I'm really lost here.

Attachments

• SWHF 005.jpg
    SWHF 005.jpg
    92.5 KB · Views: 28
  • vase 001.jpg
    vase 001.jpg
    102.2 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:
I'm not a pro, and I don't sell a lot of stuff, but I'd say at least $200 for the SW HF yo showed, it is NICE.

Don't sell yourself short, if you price your handmade one of a kind turnings cheap, he will think of them as cheap, and not really worthy of a nice gift to his wife, if you want a fair price, he will hold you and your work in a much higher regard. Now if you were some famous known turner, then $200 would be CHEAP.

I'm sure others will chime in here.

Cheers!

PS post some pics of both pieces here for everyone to look at, if you like. :wave:

I agree with what Stu said. If he baulks at the price, don't lower it and just keep them otherwise he'll expect to get all future turnings on the cheep.