SC planer

Hi Rex,

Not to change the purpose of your thread, but I am also deciding on a planer to purchase. I have narrowed it down to a Dewalt (DW733 or DW734) or the Ridgid. Is there a reason why you have eliminated the Dewalt planers from your list?

rex,
for these small planers shop only on local service and warranty. they`ll all cut about the same and are priced close to one another but when they break service can break the bank if you`ve gotta pay freight.

Hi Rex,

Not to change the purpose of your thread, but I am also deciding on a planer to purchase. I have narrowed it down to a Dewalt (DW733 or DW734) or the Ridgid. Is there a reason why you have eliminated the Dewalt planers from your list?

Too late. You are now a certified "thread-jacker". I've been running a 734 for over 2 years. Just getting ready to change knives. Been very happy with it.

Frank do you bleed green too? I figured that you would chime in for the grizz. I don't want to pay freight and LOML won't let me take a road trip. I could use the warmer weather but must stay here. From some talk the DeWalt has thinner blades and may need to be replaced to turned quicker. I am looking at a 3 blade unit and would like the 2 speed because I will be doing mostly hardwood. Also the De Walt is higher priced.

Frank do you bleed green too? I figured that you would chime in for the grizz. I don't want to pay freight and LOML won't let me take a road trip. I could use the warmer weather but must stay here. From some talk the DeWalt has thinner blades and may need to be replaced to turned quicker. I am looking at a 3 blade unit and would like the 2 speed because I will be doing mostly hardwood. Also the De Walt is higher priced.