Hello & Introduction

Norb Schmidt

Thanks for having me. I guess I'm a long time lurker ;) but I'm sure glad I found you guys. Allow me to introduce myself.

My name is Norb and I've been a hobbiest woodworker for about 8 years. Of course, we've had three children (B8, G5 & B3) and a major illness during that time period, so please be lenient on what I've accomplished so far. As a professional - I drive a desk as a commercial lender. In my free time, we enjoy camping, I like to bike, and of course, yard work and spending time with the family.

As far as woodworking goes, I'm mostly self taught. I started with a Jet contractor's saw and a router, and have been building my tool collection ever since. After going to Kelly Mehler's school last year (2005) to build a blanket chest, I've been overhauling the shop - not only making it more work friendly with benches and organization (and walls for that matter), but I've added some new machinery as well. Yes - I went combo and was fortunate enough to meet another FW member through the process. Its taken me a long time to get the shop together (almost 8 months) but I'm back in business now.

I went back to Kelly's this year to learn to build a chest of drawers. I'm now finishing up the drawers and will then focus on the apron and back. Casework is a lot of work.

My favorite styles (currently) are Arts & Crafts and Shaker, but I really appreciate all styles from the Modern to Period.

As I've come to learn - nothing is true unless you see the pics - so I'll try attaching some.

- Norb

Attachments

• IMG_0599.JPG
    IMG_0599.JPG
    48.8 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_0600.JPG
    IMG_0600.JPG
    48.3 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG_0601.JPG
    IMG_0601.JPG
    57.8 KB · Views: 12
  • IMG_0602.JPG
    IMG_0602.JPG
    54 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG_0603.JPG
    IMG_0603.JPG
    43 KB · Views: 10