blue tools OK?

Frank Fusco

The friend who sharpened my bowl gouge and showed me how to use it also does professional sharpening. He says he grew up in his fathers sharpening shop and has been doing this for about 60 years. But, to qualify, he once sharpened a carbide table saw blade for me. After sharpening it burned the wood being cut. Pretty awful results. I didn't complain, just took to another shop and it is fine now. Enneyhow....while at his shop I mentioned that I am very careful to not overheat my tools when sharpening. I have seen other members of my woodturning club whose fine tools are blue from the tip to over an inch up the steel. Makes me cringe believing they are pretty much ruined. Well, friend says that with high speed steel getting hot to the point of turning blue doesn't hurt it at all. Says it is OK. :eek: I'm dubious. Also doubtful and skeeptikal. What say the jury? :huh:

I'm no expert, but since I have been in these forums I have always heard that bluing high speed steel does not hurt it but bluing carbon steel completely ruins it and you might as well throw it away.

I have a friend who is a professional at sharpening. Been doing it for 62 yrs. He said HSS and Cryo tools that have turned blue are not ruined. He said it take a heck of a lot more heat than can be generated on a grinding wheel to ruin a piece. Carbon Steel like Rich said throw it away if you blue it because he told me you have to grind past the blue and by the time you get there it will be blued again. He said buy a new one.

All I can say is .....and I really hate to admit it in public...it's a good thing HSS turning tools....turning blue doesn't ruin them....:eek:

Everyone's on got this pretty much nailed - HSS has to go well beyond blue before any damage is done. To prove this, blue some HSS, then take some fine sandpaper to the blue - it's only on the surface. With carbon steel, bluing goes pretty deep.