Salt n Pepper Mill Set

Alex Reid

Here is a salt and pepper mill set I made for someone. I used the crush grind mechanism bought from Woodcraft. I like these mecahnisms as I think they are a little more ergonomic. I used maple and bubinga. Also for the picture I am using my new photo tent purchased at Costco. (Thanks to Stu for that recommendation)

Salt and Pepper Mills
mills.jpg

Hey Alex, those are really neat, love the form, very different from what we usually see :thumb:

The photo tent sure makes it easier to take nice pics eh? :D

Cheers!

The photo tent sure makes it easier to take nice pics eh? :D

Cheers!

Thanks guys. Stu, your'e not kidding easier. You'd never know it but there is a heap of stuff scattered all around the tent :D.

This is my first time to make these with the crush grind so I'd be interested in knowing if anyone else has used them and if so what is your method for cutting the 5mm instep groove to accomodate the spring clip on the mechanism? For this I made a scraping tool but I am interested in what you did.

That's a great-looking set, Alex. They look very comfortable in the hand. I've not turned any mills yet, so I'm no help on your question. (I think for my first mills, I'm going to use the kind with the threaded knob on the top, since it looks like they'd be easier to drill...fewer steps in the profile.)

Alex - nice photo! Very crisp focus and colorful!

I like your mills! Good color combinations and the form has a modern style to it which looks like it would be comfortable to use! Nice work!

Alex those look great. You know I got to thinking and those could double as fish bonkers too. A great thing to add to the fishin box. Bonk em and prep em for dinner all with the same tool. :rofl::rofl:

The presentation is great Alex, did you try different back drop colors with it? What type of lighting are you using with the tent? did you have to use any filters with it? How about a pic of the tent too?