Planer or jointer

I have a 13" Dewalt planer - we all know what a planer will do, make a bowed board thinner and still bowed.

I want to start making cutting boards - will a jointer help me get a flat edge on my boards to help in my gluing up. I guess I already know that the answer is yes, now I show my ignorance.

I have a chance to buy a 6 1/8 inch Ryobi Planer-Jointer model #JP155 for $100.00 - It appears to be in excellent shape with very little use.

I have attempted to run several pieces through that were 3/4 to 1 1/2 thick and ended up with a wedge shape
board.

I have never used a jointer before - is it me or the jointer.

Thank you
Jiggs Elphison

Jiggs, it sounds like the jointer you were using was not set up properly. There is some technique involved, but if you're getting wedges, then it sounds like the two tables on the jointer (infeed and outfeed) are not coplanar to each other. Try searching Google for "jointer setup" and you'll see a lot of information about getting them set up right.

I've not seen the Ryobi jointer, but from what I've read it's a decent benchtop machine. Not well-suited for long boards, but it sounds like a decent deal for $100. (You could probably sell it for that when you move up to a bigger one.)

That said, I can count on one hand the number of times I've jointed my boards for a cutting board. With a decent table saw blade (I use the mid-level Freud blades) on a carefully adjusted table saw, I've always been able to go straight from the saw to glue-up.

Planer or Jointer

I just purchased a new Steel City 10' Hybrid table saw - had a little problem ripping hard woods, maple, tiger wood, purple heart etc Kept bogging down and burning.

Found that the 20 amp breakers in the 100 amp box was not sufficient power. So I'm having a separate line run into my garage (my shop) next week.