HI new to wood turning

Zack Massey

Hey every one I am new to wood turning and have been trying for about 3 weeks. Here are some of the ones that I think are best. I need some tips and suggestions from you pros out there! Don't feel like you are rude, I am from texas and a little redneck thought are welcome. I got started when I bought a lathe at a garage sell, and took it home. Made a bat with it just goofing off. Had a really good time learning. The motor burned up on me the next day so I bought me a brand new lathe and, hang on for the ride,,,,,Here we go!!!! Oh and thanks for the guys showing vids on youtube,,,,thats where I learned the captive ring trick. Everyone was impressed!!!

Attachments

• IMG_0041.JPG
    IMG_0041.JPG
    92.2 KB · Views: 42
  • IMG_0044.JPG
    IMG_0044.JPG
    90.3 KB · Views: 46
Dang, three weeks into the Vortex and you're already doing captive rings? You're ahead of me, Zack. :thumb: All three are nice-looking pieces.

Sounds like you got pulled into the Abyss hard like a lot of us. What lathe did you get?

Oh, and welcome to the forum. Good show, starting out with pics and all. :clap:

Well I did go to college for metal working on lathes, but this is so much more fun. Metal don't have diffrent wood grains like wood,,,,, Anyway I bought a Central Machinery lathe from Harbor freight. It is a 12 by 36 with an indexing head. Might not be the best but it will get me started. Thanks for the compliment. I could use lots of them becouse wood is much different than metal. I hope I can stay up to you guys standards!!!

If that's the lathe I'm thinking of, there's been some good stuff turned on them. It's not a Robust American Beauty, but it spins wood and provides a place to hold a chisel. That's all you really need. :thumb:

Wellcome Zack, I think we can learn more from you, than the way around.
Think you are a natural talent. Great work!!
Ad

Thanks