Delta Double Duty Lathe

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to woodworking and recently came across a Delta Double Duty lathe.

It's $500 but comes with everything seen in the below pics (lathe, table, accessories, and numerous tools).

The motor is 1/3 hp. An image of the motor is posted below with more details.

I went to see it this morning and the seller gave me a demo. The motor and belt seem to be in great working order. He placed a square piece of mahogany in the lathe and turned it into a circle with a roughing gouge in no time.

With that in mind, does $500 seem like a fair price?

Thank you in advance for any input.

1583340861536.png
1583340881898.png
1583340895277.png
1583340906238.png

IMG_0412.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum Charlie! Looks like a good heavy old machine. It will depend on what you're wanting to do with it. The extended bed should make for some nice long turnings, but may be overkill for if you're doing just pens or bowls.

Did the tail stock screw extend easily? Did the spindle turn smoothly or have any noticeable chatter while running?

For the length and weight of the older machine, it's probably a good price with it including the tools.

@Bart Leetch - didn't you have one of these you blinged up a bit?

Well it's pretty solid old iron that is generally fairly well made, has an extension so you could turn fairly long stuff, and comes with a decent handful of accessories. This wouldn't be a lathe you'd do much for bowls on (small ones sure, but not very large both due to swing and horsepower) but would work pretty well for most spindle turning so you want to do chair and table legs, wands, candle stands, etc.. it would probably be a pretty decent piece of equipment.

Those are some old school tools - you'd want to mostly use a stone with those not a grinder cause they'll get used up pretty fast otherwise.